Democratic Structures

The executive committee of the CSN

Between congresses, the Executive Committee assumes the direction of the Confederation and sees to applying the mandates voted upon by the union’s governing bodies: the Congress, the Confederal Council, and the Confederal Board. The Executive Committee is composed of six positions: the president, the general secretary, the treasurer, and three vice-presidents.

Members of the CSN’s Executive Committee have different responsibilities as defined in the articles and by-laws, and share the mandates decided by the governing bodies. They are responsible for the CSN’s smooth operations, particularly its finances, various governing bodies, staff, and union services.

Caroline Senneville


Caroline Senneville began teaching in 1990 at Cégep Limoilou, where she was actively involved in her union as a delegate to the Fédération nationale des enseignantes et des enseignants du Québec (FNEEQ-CSN). Elected President of her union in 1997, she held the position for four years.

In 2001, she became active in her federation. First elected Second Vice-President (2001-2004), she later held the positions of Secretary General and Treasurer (2004-2012) and President (2012-2017).

A fervent feminist activist, she was involved for many years on the Confederal Committee on the Status of Women and in the Fédération des femmes du Québec.

Senneville was elected President of the CSN at the June 2021 Confederal Council, having served as First Vice-President since May 2017.

CSN President since June 2021.

Policy Officer for the Communications Service


  • Official engagements
  • Pharmacy insurance plan
  • Culture and media
  • International action and solidarity

External representation:

  • Commission des normes, de l’équité et de la santé et de la sécurité du travail (CNESST) (Board of Directors and other committees)
  • Institut de recherche Robert-Sauvé en santé et en sécurité du travail (IRSST) (Board of Directors)
  • Fondaction (Board of Directors and other committees)

Union of Origin: Syndicat des enseignants et des enseignantes du Cégep Limoilou–CSN