Democratic Structures

The executive committee of the CSN

Between congresses, the Executive Committee assumes the direction of the Confederation and sees to applying the mandates voted upon by the union’s governing bodies: the Congress, the Confederal Council, and the Confederal Board. The Executive Committee is composed of six positions: the president, the general secretary, the treasurer, and three vice-presidents.

Members of the CSN’s Executive Committee have different responsibilities as defined in the articles and by-laws, and share the mandates decided by the governing bodies. They are responsible for the CSN’s smooth operations, particularly its finances, various governing bodies, staff, and union services.

Yvan Duceppe


As an employee of MCE Conseils, Yvan Duceppe has worked with various CSN unions for nearly 30 years, to help their members keep their jobs and improve their working conditions. A chartered professional accountant, he has been able to put his expertise to good use in the CSN movement, in addition to being an active member of the Conseil central de la Montérégie-CSN.

Yvan has held the position of treasurer of the Federation of Professionals (FP-CSN) for more than twenty years, and has participated in numerous confederal bodies and committees since the early 2000s. He was a member of the CSN’s Pension and Benefits Committee from 2012 to 2021.

Yvan Duceppe was elected treasurer of the Executive Committee at the CSN’s 66th Congress, in January 2021.

CSN Treasurer since 2021.

Policy Officer for Information Technology Service, the Finance Service, the Buildings Service, the Real Estate Department, the Professional Defence Fund, and the Confederal Committee on the Environment and Sustainable Development.


  • Economy and jobs
  • Environment and sustainable development
  • Social economy and solidarity
  • Public transit
  • Fair trade and responsible consumption
  • Coordination of collective resources
  • Public finance

External representation:

  • Commission des normes, de l’équité et de la santé et de la sécurité du travail (CNESST) (Board of Directors and other committees)
  • Institut de recherche Robert-Sauvé en santé et en sécurité du travail (IRSST) (Board of Directors)
  • Fondaction (Board of Directors and other committees)

Union of Origin: Syndicat de MCE Conseil–CSN