Democratic Structures

The executive committee of the CSN

Between congresses, the Executive Committee assumes the direction of the Confederation and sees to applying the mandates voted upon by the union’s governing bodies: the Congress, the Confederal Council, and the Confederal Board. The Executive Committee is composed of six positions: the president, the general secretary, the treasurer, and three vice-presidents.

Members of the CSN’s Executive Committee have different responsibilities as defined in the articles and by-laws, and share the mandates decided by the governing bodies. They are responsible for the CSN’s smooth operations, particularly its finances, various governing bodies, staff, and union services.

David Bergeron-Cyr

Second Vice-President

A forklift operator at the Jean-Coutu Group distribution centre in Varennes, David Bergeron-Cyr was a founding member of his local union, the Syndicat des travailleuses et travailleurs de PJC entrepôt–CSN.

In turn, he subsequently became Vice-President (Grievances) and later Vice-President of his union. He then became involved with the FC-CSN, serving as Vice-President from 2009 to 2018 and, until recently, as President.

During all this time, David was in charge of organizing and occupational health and safety issues, as well as the Federation’s agri-food and finance sectors, in addition to sitting on numerous Confederal governing bodies.

At the 66th CSN Convention in January 2021, David Bergeron-Cyr was elected to the position of Second Vice-President of the CSN Executive Committee.

Vice-President of the CSN since 2021

Policy officer for the Unionization Service as well as for the Health, Safety, and Environment Service.


  • Workplace health and safety
  • Employment insurance
  • Health and social services
  • Camp Vol d’été LEUCAN CSN
  • Mutual Aid network

External representation:

  • Commission des normes, de l’équité, de la santé et de la sécurité du travail (CNESST) (Board of Directors and other committees)
  • Institut de recherche Robert-Sauvé en santé et en sécurité du travail (IRSST) (Board of Directors)

Union of Origin: Syndicat des travailleuses et travailleurs de PJC entrepôt–CSN